Some Plant-Based Food That Can Cause Allergies

Plant-Based Milk
Plant-Based Milk
Plant-Based Milk
Plant-Based Milk

Following a particular type of eating habit like committing to plant-based diet plans can be challenging at times. This is because the choice of food that you can eat becomes limited, and this will be especially true when you eat out. People follow vegan or vegetarian diets for reasons like health benefits, religious beliefs, ideology, environmental concerns, etc. Besides, studies show that a plant-based diet is more suitable for those with allergies, but some plant-based food must be avoided because they can cause allergic reactions. This article will discuss a plant-based diet for those with allergies.

Plant-Based Diet And Allergies

Surveys have shown that in people who follow a vegan diet, allergic symptoms often improve. Also, nowadays, people who are lactose intolerant use dairy alternatives like plant-based milk, cheese, yogurt, etc. These are becoming popular, and manufacturers are introducing different varieties of it like oat milk, soy milk, pea milk, rice milk, almond milk, and so on. The other major reason that a plant-based diet is suitable for those with allergies is that it has higher fiber content; it keeps the gut lining healthy and reduces the risk of allergies to food.

Plant-Based Food That Can Cause Allergic Reactions

In this section, we will discuss plant-based food that people are commonly allergic to.

Soybean:

Soy products like tempeh, tofu, soy milk, yogurt, etc., are used in a wide variety of plant-based recipes. This is mainly because soybean is one of the main protein sources in a plant-based diet. Besides, soy milk comes close to cow milk in its nutritional content, and it is widely used by those who are lactose intolerant. However, some people are allergic to soy, and they must avoid soy-based products from their plant-based diet plans.

Tree Nuts:

Tree nuts like almonds, cashews, walnuts, etc., are some of the best sources of healthy fats in plant-based diet plans. Also, almond milk is popular plant-based milk that can be used in beverages. But some people have nut allergies, and they must avoid all types of nut-based products in their diet. Such individuals must check the ingredient list of vegan food products as nut milk is a popular dairy substitute.

Peanut:

Peanut is a legume as it grows underground, and it is an energy-dense plant-based food. Peanut allergy is one of the most common allergies, and such individuals can be allergic to other legumes like peas. But some people are only allergic to peanuts, and they can consume beans, lentils, etc.

So, before switching to plant-based diets, you must identify whether you are allergic to any plant-based food and avoid it from your diet.